St. Mary’s Stained Glass Windows
The Light Within: A Spiritual Journey in Stained Glass
The beauty of St. Mary’s stained glass windows dates back to when our church was in built in 1858. More windows have been added over time: in 1888 (Munich-style in sanctuary), 1916 (Tiffany windows) and the Pike windows between 1947-1963. Take a tour and find out more and gain a deeper appreciation for our church and for worshiping here. Rochester’s Catholic Courier newspaper published a story about our church history tours. Here’s a link to their story.
A talented committee of St. Mary’s professionals have researched, photographed, designed and written a stunning coffee table book, “The Light Within”. The proceeds from the sale of this beautiful $40 book will go into a fund earmarked for maintenance and preservation efforts of these treasured assets. The photos are stunning, reflecting the facets and brilliance of these timeless panes of stained glass.
What a wonderful keepsake gift for anyone with a connection to St. Mary’s, both in their enjoyment and the support of preservation efforts. Books are available for sale at the Parish office for $40 each, or use the form here to place your order.
The parishioners of St. Mary’s who preceded us made huge sacrifices to purchase these windows. Now is the time to care for them so that future generations of St. Mary’s parishioners can also appreciate their beauty and inspiration.